1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Introductory Book on Differential Geometry

1. May 9, 2010 #1
    Hey,

I was wondering if anyone could recommend an introductory book for differential geometry. I am studying general relativity and need some help with this topic.

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. May 10, 2010 #2
  4. May 10, 2010 #3

Landau

Science Advisor

5. May 10, 2010 #4

dx

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

"Applied Differential Geometry" by William Burke

6. May 10, 2010 #5

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

"Introduction to smooth manifolds", and "Riemannian manifolds: an introduction to curvature" by John M. Lee. These books are great. The only problem is that you need both of them. Everything about connections, geodesics, covariant derivative and curvature is in the second book. It don't think there can be a better place to read about those things than this book.

I like Isham's book too. I think he covers some concepts, in particular the tangent space, even better than Lee. But it's not really an introduction to the differential geometry you need to understand GR. It's an introduction to the differential geometry you need to understand Yang-Mills theory. So he talks a lot about Lie groups and fiber bundles, which you don't need right now, and doesn't say much about geodesics and curvature.

7. May 12, 2010 #6
    Thanks for the suggestions!

Isham's book was a little to advanced. I was able to find one though to suit my needs. It doesn't look like it is too popular but its called "Introduction To Differential Geometry and Reimannian Geometry By: Erwin Kreyszig"

8. May 13, 2010 #7

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member