Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is all math essentially: Solve for x?

1. Aug 15, 2012 #1
    Is all math essentially: "Solve for x?"

I am still learning basic math, and in one form or another it all seems basically: "Find x, or in some case some other letter." Or does it become different when you get to the higher maths?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 15, 2012 #2
    Re: Is all math essentially: "Solve for x?"

$${}$$
    Not even close

Very, very different...fortunately enough: much more challenging, interesting, beautiful, astonishing...although, of course, now and then we still have to tackle a "find x such that so and so" question.

DonAntonio

4. Aug 15, 2012 #3

Mentallic

Homework Helper

I'm in uni and still finding x's or some other kind of value. Although, the x's I'm typically finding aren't numbers, they're matrices, vectors, functions etc.
    But that's just the start of it. There are so many other problems that'll you'll also need to tackle - and likely a lot of times these techniques you've learnt will be used in order to help you find x, but also, they might not be.

I'm not sure how basic the basic math you're talking about is, but have you learnt about expanding factors yet? Such as a(x+y)=ax+ay? This kind of thing is pretty much as big in maths as finding x is.

5. Aug 15, 2012 #4