Is General GRE Score Important for International Applicants in US PhD Programs?

In summary, the General GRE score is important, but it is not the only factor that decides whether or not someone will be admitted to a physics graduate program.
shubham agn
Hello!

I am in 3rd year of engineering in Biochemical engineering. I want go for a Ph.D in High Energy Physics in the US (and I will be an international applicant). So, I will have to write both the General GRE and Physics GRE. I want to know how important is the General GRE score. Do I need to have a very good General GRE score or somewhat average score will do. I have searched a lot about this but didn't get any clear answer. Please help.

Physics news on Phys.org
A good PGRE is definitely necessary but in a competitive situation the Gen GRE could be a tie breaker so I wouldn't blow it off.

The GRE will never be a tie breaker. As long as you show that you can do well in the math section (which you should be able to do with little studying) have basic reading comprehension, and can write a coherent sentence, it no longer matters. I've been shown data from one top school in particular that shows this. Actually at the info session they said there was really no correlation between scores and admissions since they just don't care about it.

The PGRE is much more important but has been less important in recent years since quals have been phased out at a lot of schools. It's still very important for people who come from schools that are not well known.

radium said:
The GRE will never be a tie breaker.

If the GRE score is unimportant why do so many schools require the GRE even though some do not require the GREP. Why do some schools specify minimum GRE scores? Admittedly the GRE score may be the last thing to be considered in admission but it still seems that it is considered in most schools according to the AIP. Check school requirements here, http://www.gradschoolshopper.com/gradschool/search_results.jsp