Is Gravity Really a Fundamental Force?

In summary: But I'm glad you're asking because I think there's a way to think about it that makes more sense. In summary, an engineer with a Learning Channel level of knowledge of physics seems to be having trouble understanding why gravity is not a fundamental force. They suggest that perhaps gravity is merely an effect, and that space-time may be made up of various "string" particles that have properties of matter and energy (dark matter/dark energy). They also mention the possibility that gravity may not actually be a force, but rather the result of energy-mass in curved spacetime.
Searching
I am an engineer with a Learning Channel level of knowledge of physics. I can't get past the idea that gravity is not a fundamental force. Can someone help me?

Hear is my problem:
If gravity is truly a fundamental force, why can we not find the particle associated with it? Why is so much weaker than the other forces? Should we really need 11 dimensions connect it to the others?

It makes logical sense to me that gravity is merely an effect. Perhaps space-time is made up of these "string" or similar particles that have properties of matter and energy (dark matter/dark energy), but are too small to be detected. We observe dark matter (by its effects) clustered around black holes at the center of galaxies. Perhaps is only more dense do to the black hole and is actually everywhere and makes up the fabric or space.

Otherwise, are we saying that space-time is made of nothing? It seems logical that there may be no such thing as empty space.

Can someone help me understand in a way that I can comprehend why we are some certain gravity is a fundamental force?

Sorry in advance for the simplicity, but play that cards we have.

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF and do enjoy it !