Is my proof correct? (show that if a < 0, then -a > 0)

• Thread starter Mépris
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Proof
In summary, when trying to prove that if a < 0, then -a > 0, the assumption that -a = 0 leads to a contradiction and therefore, it must be true that -a > 0.
Mépris
1. Homework Statement :

Show that if a < 0, hen -a > 0

Homework Equations

N/A

3. The Attempt at a Solution :

Assume the result is false.

Thus, by trichotomy:

i)

-a = 0

This is not possible. A real number can be greater than zero, less than zero or equal to zero.
Since it has been given that -a > 0, it follows that -a ≠ 0

ii)

-a < 0

If -a < 0, then a > 0

a + (-a) < 0 + a

[itex]\Rightarrow[/itex] a > 0, which is not true!

Since, it is given that a < 0

---

This is my first foray into learning calculus in a more rigorous fashion. I've never done any proofs before. This seems okay to me but it is possible that there is something wrong somewhere. So, is this indeed correct or did I miss something?

Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Mépris! :smile:

Mépris said:
-a = 0

This is not possible. A real number can be greater than zero, less than zero or equal to zero.
Since it has been given that -a > 0, it follows that -a ≠ 0

You aren't given that fact. :uhh: That's what you are trying to prove..

ii)

-a < 0

If -a < 0, then a > 0

a + (-a) < 0 + a

⇒ a > 0, which is not true!

Since, it is given that a < 0

This part sounds correct!

Hello Inifinitum!

Infinitum said:
You aren't given that fact. :uhh: That's what you are trying to prove..

/facepalm

This is actually a two-part question but I didn't think posting the first part would be necessary. Here is the full question:
"Show that if a > 0, then -a < 0; and if a < 0, then -a < 0"

The solution to the first part was provided and it was said that the second part of the solution could be inferred from the first. So, I tried to prove it like the first part was proven and I didn't look closely enough. (complacency, I guess?)

---