What are the practical applications of Lesbegue integration?

In summary, the conversation is about measure theory and recommendations for references on the subject. Royden's book is suggested for those with prior knowledge, while "Lebesgue measure on Euclidean space" by Jones is recommended for beginners and those interested in Lebesgue integration.
smirten
hi, i am learing about measure theory and i am looking fore some good reference of the subjects ..

Physics news on Phys.org

smirten said:
hi, i am learing about measure theory and i am looking fore some good reference of the subjects ..

Royden; Real analysis

what applications are you interested in?

Measure theory is a very fun subject, but it can be very hard on beginners. The book of Royden is a wonderful book if you already have some knowledge on the subject and it's philosophy.
For complete beginners, I recommend the beautiful book "Lebesgue measure on Euclidean space" by Jones. It explain conceptually what measure theory is, and it presents a nice selection of exercises!

lavinia said:
Royden; Real analysis

what applications are you interested in?

i am interested about Lesbegue integration...

1. What is measure theory?

Measure theory is a branch of mathematics that deals with the concept of measuring sets and their properties. It provides a framework for understanding how to assign numbers to sets in a consistent and meaningful way.

2. Why is measure theory important?

Measure theory is important because it allows us to analyze and understand the behavior of sets in a rigorous and systematic manner. It is used in many areas of mathematics, including probability, analysis, and geometry, and has applications in fields such as physics, economics, and engineering.

3. What are some key concepts in measure theory?