1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Linear Algebra: Positive Matrix

1. Jun 30, 2008 #1

LPB

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Let T be a positive operator on a Hilbert space H. Pick an orthonormal basis {e1,e2,...,en} for H. Let A=[aij] be the nxn matrix representation of T with respect to the basis {e1,e2,...,en}, so that Tej=[tex]\sum[/tex]aijei, j=1,2,...,n. (The summation is from i=1 to n; I'm not sure how to show that on here.)
    Show that A is a positive matrix,; i.e. for all x[tex]\in[/tex]C, x*Ax[tex]\geq[/tex]0.

3. The attempt at a solution

If T is a positive operator, then T must be self-adjoint (so T*=T), and <Tx,x>[tex]\geq[/tex]0 for all x[tex]\in[/tex]H.

I'm still new to linear algebra, so the solution may be obvious ... I just don't see what to do. If someone could explain this, using simple language, I would much appreciate it. Thank you!
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 30, 2008 #2

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You've got me confused. Isn't the definition of a positive operator T, <x,Tx>>=0 for all x? If A is a matrix representation of T, then isn't <x,Ax>=<x,Tx>? Where the x in the left side is the abstract vector in the Hilbert space and on the right side is the column vector in the {e_i} basis? Are you really new to linear algebra? And I don't see why a positive operator needs to be self adjoint. Am I in over my head here?

4. Jun 30, 2008 #3

LPB

The definition given in my textbook for a positive operator is: