Liquid Scintillation Counting: External source to determine efficiency

• A
  • Thread starter Chemistlsc
  • Start date
Chemistlsc
TL;DR Summary
what are the advantages of using the external source for a Quench Indicating Parameter vs without it? And can the internal standard method be applied with the external source? Why must the same cocktail be used for both the quench set and samples?
Good day,

My background is in chemistry but my work now revolves around the liquid scintillation counter and so I have a couple of couple of questions on the usage of an external source like how typical.

I've read that most Quench Indicating Parameters involve the preparation of a quench set which comprises of a known amount of active standard, and varying amounts of quenching agent such as nitromethane. Then by exposing these quenched standards to the external source a measurement of a Quench Indicating Parameter like QPE, tSIE, etc is achieved and plotted against the efficiency (a quench curve). Following this, when we analyze a sample we measure the sample's Quench Indicating Parameter to determine its efficiency. And then calculate its activity by dividing the measured CPM/efficiency.

I have the following queries:
1. Is this form of Quench Indicating Parameter any better than those without an external source? Mostly because this is an additional standard that incurs additional cost, and so I'm not sure if its worth it. For example, for the HIDEX systems I see that I can plot a quench curve suing TDCR, and this does not require any external source.