Looking for a career in physics and/or astronomy

In summary, the individual is a graduate from the University of Houston in computer science and is looking for a career shift into the field of physics. They are unsure of how to make this transition and are seeking advice and guidance. They have some basic knowledge of physics and astronomy and are wondering if they can use their computer science skills to support physicists or work in astronomy. They are also concerned about the financial and knowledge barriers for further education.
karthikkahn
Hello friends,

I am a graduate from University of Houston in computer science field. I am looking for a career shift and need guidance of how I can do it.

I have no idea why I chose computer science as my career. But in the last 2 years my love for physics has increased.

Is it possible to shift career at this age (24). Or is there a way I can get into this field using my skills in computer science?

I have some basic knowledge of physics and astronomy.

Any advice or guidance would be really helpful.

karthik

Physics news on Phys.org
Thanks for the immediate reply. I have read that thread and it has solved one problem.

I think I can't shift my career. Not atleast now. I don't have the money to study again and the knowledge either.

So can I use my computer science skills to atleast support physicists, or work in astronomy. Like web development and software applications for these fields. if so where can I apply?

I could not find the answer for these in the link above.

Thanks in advance.

What are the job prospects for a career in physics or astronomy?

The job prospects for a career in physics or astronomy are quite good, as these fields are constantly expanding and evolving. There are opportunities in a variety of industries, including research, academia, government, and private sector. However, competition for these jobs can be strong, so it is important to gain relevant experience and skills during your education.