Should I switch to a math or physics major instead of computer science?

• Thread starter counlin
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Numbers
In summary, it seems like you do not enjoy the abstract concepts that are involved in Computer Science, and you would rather work with numbers and math.
counlin
Hey there,

I'm now a Computer Science student (3rd year, 2 more to go) and so far I'm a bit unhappy with my course. Why? Well, I like programming and stuff, but all I'm seeing right now are classes with tons of concepts (Operational Systems concepts, Software Engineering Concepts, AI concepts, Programming Langauge concepts, etc.), it's all just a bunch of things to memorize and as soon as the year has ended I'll forget most of it. And it has been like that since I left the math classes behind (I had Calculus, Statistcs and Linear Algebra), which were way more practical, not to say fun.

I think I like math, physics and numbers the most, more than I like programming and pure logic. I was thinking about changing course, though I'm not sure if I should. I thought about physics, but the career prospects are not very good. I thought about Computer Engineer, which also have some of what I've studied so far, but a lot more math and hardware/electrical study (which I also find interesting). EE also came to mind, as well as Civil Engineering. Math is on the same boat as physics, the future career does not seem good to me.

I'm not asking for you to choose my course, or career for me, but I wanted opinions, and this seems like the right place to ask.

Oh, I'm now 20 years old. Sorry for any english mistakes, it is not my mother language,

Thank you in advance,

Physics news on Phys.org
If you like handling a lot of numbers, switch to accounting.