Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Lorentz Transformation negative result

1. May 30, 2015 #1
    Hello,
    I have some mathematics background but little to no physics background. I am very interested in physics and am beginning to learn about relativity. Upon exploring the derivation of the Lorentz Transformation equation I noticed something that confused me a little. Again, I don't have much experience or knowledge, so this is probably a rather naive question. My question is: when one takes the root of γ^2=1/(1-(v^2/c^2)) you get γ=±1/(√1-(v^2/c^2)). I understand the significance of the positive result, but what of the negative? Just curiosity, could not find a clear answer elsewhere. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. May 31, 2015 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Welcome to PF;
    The negative result is not significant.

4. May 31, 2015 #3
    We define lorentz factor pozitive.So you take square of lorentz factor then you take the root.You gain again positive lorentz factor.I am trying to say lorentz factor defined ##γ=1/√(1-(v/c)^2)## pozitive.

5. May 31, 2015 #4

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

As the other guys said, ##\gamma## is positive by definition. But you can consider Lorentz transformations with ##-\gamma## where ##\gamma## would normally appear. In addition to changing the velocity of the coordinate system, such a transformation also reverses the direction of both the time axis and the spatial axes.

6. May 31, 2015 #5
    Interesting. Thanks guys

7. Jun 4, 2015 #6
    I don't know about physics, but in mathematic
    If ##x=\sqrt{16}## then X is 4 not -4
    But if ##x^2=16## then X is ##±\sqrt{16}##
    ##\sqrt{something}## is ALWAYS positive in math, even the imaginary is positive.
    So the gamma factor in Lorentz transformation is ALWAYS positive.