Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Making a solar powered battery with AC power socket

1. Jul 7, 2017 #1
    It's mid summer and I think I need a project to keep busy. What better than a solar project? Problem is, I've never built a solar circuit before, let alone a battery charger. Ideally, I would like to build the equivalent of a solar powered generator. I know there's no way I'm getting as much power as a gas generator, but it'd be fun project. I would hope to wire in an American standard wall outlet to power whatever gets plugged in. Would it be possible to put in a battery charge monitor as well? My experience with electronics lies in the realm of novice. I've done some electrical work, but by no means would I consider myself too knowledgeable. Is what I'm proposing unrealistic for my skill level, or is it doable? Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 7, 2017 #2

davenn

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

maybe

do you have any significant electronics construction experience ... if you answer is no, then my maybe answer in the first bit would be changed to no
    not without some close hands on mentoring help

line up of modules required.....

Solar panel(s) with suitable battery charging capability ( depends on battery capacity) ---- > solar charge controller unit ---> battery(s) ------ DC to AC inverter

Dave

4. Jul 7, 2017 #3
    I wouldn't say it's significant, but I have done a fair bit of electronics work, just nothing involving solar power.

5. Jul 7, 2017 #4

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

If you haven't worked with AC Mains projects much yet, I'd avoid that for right now. It's best to have an in-person Mentor to help you learn about AC Mains based projects and how to design to comply with UL and other industry standard safety rules.