• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products Here!

Mathematical Analysis Proof: |x-y|<= |x|+|y|

Homework Statement

1. Show that for all real numbers x and y:
a) |x-y| ≤ |x| + |y|

Homework Equations

Possibly -|x| ≤ x ≤ |x|,
and -|y| ≤ y ≤ |y|?

The Attempt at a Solution

I tried using a direct proof here, but I keep getting stuck, especially since this is my first time ever coming across mathematical analysis, so I don't have much intuition for it. What I did think was possibly trying to use the triangle inequality somehow?
So far I have added the two above equations together to get
-|x| - |y| ≤ x + y ≤ |x| + |y|
But If that is right then I have no idea how to manipulate it to get the original statement to be proven. Any help would be much appreciated as I seem to keep going in circles.

Answers and Replies

Since ##|x-y|=|y-x|## you may assume that ##x\geq y## which reduces the cases you have to consider. And this is the triangle inequality, because ##|x-y|=|x+(-y)|\leq |x|+|-y|=|x|+|y|## so you cannot use what you want to prove.

Ray Vickson
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Dearly Missed

Homework Statement

1. Show that for all real numbers x and y:
a) |x-y| ≤ |x| + |y|

Homework Equations

Possibly -|x| ≤ x ≤ |x|,
and -|y| ≤ y ≤ |y|?

The Attempt at a Solution

I tried using a direct proof here, but I keep getting stuck, especially since this is my first time ever coming across mathematical analysis, so I don't have much intuition for it. What I did think was possibly trying to use the triangle inequality somehow?
So far I have added the two above equations together to get
-|x| - |y| ≤ x + y ≤ |x| + |y|

As fresh_42 points out, you may as well assume that ##x < y##; the case ##x = y## is trivial. Furthermore, the cases ##x=0## or ##y = 0## are trivial as well. Given all that, one way to go is by a (tedious?) consideration of cases:
(a) ##0 < x < y##; (b) ##x < 0 < y##; and (c) ##x < y < 0##.

StoneTemplePython
Science Advisor