Maxwell's equations in matter (steady conditions)

In summary: I don't know, make more sense?In summary, the symbols used in Maxwell's equations are not explained in the lecture notes, and the relationship between the integration limits is not explained either. The form of the equations is related to the stokes theorem, and the formulas listed are related to the stokes theorem.
henrybrent
In my university lecture notes, maxwell's equations in matter are written in the following format:

[itex] \oint \vec E d \vec L = 0 [/itex]
[itex] \oint \vec D \vec dS = \int_V P_f (\vec r)dV [/itex]
[itex] \oint_S \vec B d \vec S = 0 [/itex]
[itex] \oint_L \vec H \vec dL = \int_S P_f \vec J_f d\vec S [/itex]

I am new to electromagnetism and Maxwell's equations, I don't understand the form (it's integral form) that my lecturer has written these equations in. As in, what the symbols mean. I can't quite find the individual symbols used and their explanation in textbooks, because they differ sometimes quite significantly. I understand the equations in differential form/integral form in a general case, in a vacuum, but not quite how they are written here in matter.

Could somebody help explain the symbols to me and the relationships between the integration limits (if appropriate?)

Is this on a macroscopic scale or? It's not explained at all in my lecture notes, its just merely written just as I have in the thread, no explanation, no derivation (i'm not asking for a derivation...yet...) just an explanation of the symbols used.

Cheers

Physics news on Phys.org
The Integrals with circles denote closed line Integrals that is you integrate the integrand along a specific path from a starting point around the whole loop and back to the starting point,

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Line_integral

The other integral with the subscript S denotes a surface integral where you integrate the integrand over the specified surface.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Surface_integral