Conditions on f for dx/f(x) to be a Measure in L^2

In summary, the conversation discusses the conditions for dx/f(x) to be a valid measure in a Hilbert space L^2(R, dx/f(x)). It is mentioned that for it to be a valid measure, 1/f must be measurable and sum to one. In addition, the function f must be measurable and positive everywhere or almost everywhere. The conversation also mentions that if 1/f is measurable, then f is also measurable.
Jip
Hi,
Let's say I consider the real numbers and some function real function f, nowhere zero, and positive.
My question is, what are the conditions on f for dx/f(x) to be a valid measure on this space?

(I have to consider a Hilbert space [tex] L^2(R, dx/f(x)) [/tex] with scalar product [tex]a.b = \int a^*(x) b(x) \frac{dx}{f(x)} [/tex]

I'm a physicist, so please excuse me if this is not written in perfect mathematical language!
Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
To get a valid measure you just need it (1/f) (to be measurable and) to sum to one; but your Hilbert space will contain only functions a such that the integral of a*a/f is finite. If you need this to apply to a specific class of functions then you'll have to restricf f accordingly.

In addition to you assumptions (everywhere or almost everywhere positive) it needs to be measurable, and that is all.

Hawkeye18 said:
In addition to you assumptions (everywhere or almost everywhere positive) it needs to be measurable, and that is all.
Thanks! And when 1/f is measurable, is it also true for f?

Yes, ##1/f## is measurable if and only if ##f## is.

1. What is the definition of "conditions on f for dx/f(x) to be a measure in L^2"?

The conditions on f for dx/f(x) to be a measure in L^2 refer to the requirements that must be met for the function f to be considered a measure in the L^2 space, which is a function space commonly used in mathematics and physics.

2. Why is it important for dx/f(x) to be a measure in L^2?