Mech. Engr.: Returning to get your Masters/PhD after 3 years in industry?

In summary, the conversation is about an individual who is pursuing a path in industry for at least 3 years after completing their undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering. They are concerned about the feasibility of going back to graduate school after being away from the more technical areas of mechanical engineering for 3 years. They express interest in pursuing a career in HVAC, robotics, or materials research, rather than machine modeling and design. The other individual in the conversation suggests earning a master's degree while still working.
Elbobo
I'm only an ME undergraduate right now, but I'm pursuing this path that may lock me in industry (CAD/CAM/machine design/etc.) for a minimum of 3 years after graduation. It's not quite the technical path that I wanted to go into, but the opportunity seems too great to pass up for now.

How feasible would it be to go back into graduate school to get a Masters and/or PhD after 3 years of being away from the more (for lack of a better phrase) math-intensive areas of Mechanical Engineering?

I don't want to end up doing machine modeling & design for the rest of my ME career; I'd rather do HVAC, robotics or materials research. But the fact that I'll be doing none of those things for 3 continuous years right after getting my Bachelor's worries me.

Any advice?

Physics news on Phys.org
I earned my BS in Nuclear Engineering, worked for 4 years, then went back and earned a MS in mechanical engineering. It turned out to be a good combonition for me.

You can earn your masters in engineering online or night school and keep working if this is best for you.

1. What are the benefits of returning to get a Masters/PhD in Mechanical Engineering after working in industry for 3 years?