Understanding MiRNA Profile Analysis: Exploring Bar Diagrams from GSE94799

• Thread starter TytoAlba95
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Analysis
In summary, the conversation discusses two types of bar diagrams and includes questions about their interpretation. The first digram shows bars hanging below 0, and the second has bars shooting from -6 and being below 0. The questions also touch on the use of F and logFC values in gene expression analysis and suggest consulting tutorials or an advisor for further clarification. The conversation also mentions the lack of labeling on the graphs and the relevance of the F statistic in statistical tests.
TytoAlba95
TL;DR Summary
Hi there. I'm a PhD student learning how to interpret raw microarray data. I have selected a miRNA expression profile of mice liver tissue, of three groups: Control, High-fat diet(HFD) and HFD+drug.
microarry.png

Picture source:GSE94799

Following are the two different types of bar-digram that were observed. My questions are:
1. What do bars hanging below 0 mean in the first dig. ?
2. What do bars shooting from -6 mean, also why are they below 0?
3. Like a normal gene (non-ncRNA gene) expression profile where the expression level is measured by the logFC value, is F the parameter that is analogous to logFC here? Could you shed some light as how F works?

Biology news on Phys.org
This is outside my field, so I googled for 'microarray data analysis' and found some tutorials. I would suggest starting there.

When I hit problems, in Grad school, that I did not understand my first stop was to check in with my advisor, have you done that?

The y-axis of your graphs aren't labeled, so I don't think anyone can figure out what the values are supposed to mean. You'll probably need to consult the documentation from the program you used to obtain those graphs.