What are the applications of non-linear PDEs in physics and engineering?

In summary, a non-linear partial differential equation (PDE) is a mathematical equation that describes a relationship between a function and its derivatives, where the function itself is non-linear. These equations have various applications in physics and engineering, such as modeling turbulent systems and designing aircraft wings. Solving non-linear PDEs is a challenging task and requires advanced mathematical techniques. Real-world examples of non-linear PDEs include weather forecasting and aerodynamics. However, these equations also come with challenges, such as difficulty in obtaining accurate solutions and determining initial and boundary conditions.
DevacDave
Hello Everybody!

I'm an applied mathematics researcher who found out about this website through the courtesy of one of my awesome students. My main degree is in physics, but afterwards I have been leaning more and more in the direction of mathematics and programming. Most of my work orbits around non-linear PDE that pop-up in physics and engineering. As far as hobbies go I think that I have too many of them to list, but I should mention that bashing on people who think that Mathematica will replace the need for mathematicians and mathematics education is among my cherished pleasures. I do like and use Mathematica, it's just the above mindset that bugs me. Other ones (interests and hobbies) would be condensed matter physics and DIY electronics projects.

English is not my primary language, but I think that I am far from being incomprehensible ;).

Physics news on Phys.org
DevacDave said:
I should mention that bashing on people who think that Mathematica will replace the need for mathematicians and mathematics education is among my cherished pleasures. I do like and use Mathematica, it's just the above mindset that bugs me.
I like it when people cherish their annoyances, especially when they are right. Welcome here!