My little theory: what would happen?

• Thread starter phylicity
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Theory
In summary: This is the concept of mass that is most useful in particle physics.In summary, the concept of mass in special relativity is a debated topic and there are different definitions of mass. However, in the scenario described, the observer will see the runner gaining relativistic mass while the runner in their own reference frame will only measure their invariant rest mass. This is because relativistic effects work both ways and the observer will also appear differently to the runner due to length contraction and time dilation.
phylicity
First post ever! Long time forum browser, but only registered yesterday! =D
I'm in my final year of high school, and have therefore only properly been doing Physics for two years, but it's something I'd like to pursue in university. Sorry if my knowledge of relativity is lacking a little...

I had this possibly stupid notion a while back... It's all hypothetical obviously:
We, happily standing in our inert reference frame, see someone start to run. They get faster and faster... in fact, they soon approach the speed of light.
Am I right in saying that we will observe them to gain mass?
BUT... in their reference frame, they are stationary. So will they be aware they have gained mass? If they were to measure their own mass, would they find it to have increased?

If anyone has any idea about this, please tell! Not sure if I'm wrong!

Physics news on Phys.org
phylicity said:
BUT... in their reference frame, they are stationary. So will they be aware they have gained mass? If they were to measure their own mass, would they find it to have increased?

No, on both counts. Nor will they notice themselves as being length-contracted, nor will they notice their clocks running slower.

To see why this has to be true, note that relativistic effects work both ways. The runner also observes you as being length-contracted, time-dilated, etc.