Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Nasty little beggars not only eat our home

1. Sep 20, 2006 #1

Gold Member

The nasty little beggars not only eat our homes, oh no, they have to try and kill us by global warminig .

Paul Eggleton, a scientist with Britain's Natural Environmental Research Council, announced last week that termite flatulence is responsible for as much as 20 percent of the world's methane. Eggleton said that each year termites release 88 million tons of methane as they chew through old leaves, trees, and soil. According to Eggleton, "It's a lot of methane, but there are a lot of termites."

I am studying a way to use termite gas to power motor vehicles, doe's any one know the termite mass to food ratio neede to produce a cubic yard of gas per hr?
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2006
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 20, 2006 #2

Science Advisor

I think it can be calculated by taking measurements at a familly reunion and scaling down.
  4. Sep 20, 2006 #3
    This won't work due to considerations uncovered in the follow-up study:

5. Sep 21, 2006 #4

Gold Member

Thanks Zooby, i did not know termites had feelings, it sort of makes them an even worse pest, it has given me another idea though, may be i can run my vehicle off of man made wood gas, (made by chemical means) i would not have to eat wood :yuck: Does any one know which trees are the most gas eous?
  6. Sep 21, 2006 #5

Gold Member

Maybe you should switch to cows. They are not at all embarrased about their flatulence, and if one or two of them fail to produce, you can eat them instead of eating wood. I'm not sure how you would keep them piped up, though. There's a lot of solid stuff coming out that same hole.:biggrin:
  7. Sep 21, 2006 #6
  8. Sep 21, 2006 #7

Gold Member

The gas used in dentistry is fun.
  9. Sep 21, 2006 #8