New to the board. Gravity questions

In summary, Tom has a question about the relationship between gravity and the expansion of the universe. He wonders if empty space can be curved and if there can be a gravitational field that permeates the entire universe. He also considers the possibility of space having a natural 4-dimensional curve. However, it is explained that the presence of energy is needed to curve spacetime, and in truly empty space there is no energy. Tom also asks how much gravity would be needed to create the redshift effect and how to calculate and test this. It is noted that the dynamics of the universe are determined by the density of material, even if it is dispersed evenly. Finally, the concept of zero point energy in empty space is discussed and it is concluded that
tommac
Hi,

My name is Tom. I am just learning about space and physics and how the universe works.
I have a question and I am not sure if I am posting it in the correct place or not so please let me know if I am posting it wrongly.

My question is about gravities relationship with the expansion of the universe.

The question is that could empty space be curved?

By this I mean either:
1) Can there be a gravitational field that permiates the universe as a whole. Maybe from the sum of small ( negligable effects ) multiplied over the numerous massive of the universe, dark matter, or using brane theory ... a source from outside our brane.
2) That space just has a natural 4d curve to it.

Now for number one above. If all of the matter in the universe has an effect on every single point in the universe ( even if it is negligable ) then at each point all forces would roughly even out so the direction of the gravitational pull would not exist, however the effect of the red shift would work.