Newton's Laws grade 11 physics

In summary, 45N is the sum of two perpendicular forces, x and y, and the resultant force is 0.4m/s^2.
anna sung

Homework Statement

A toboggan with a mass of 15kg is being pulled with an applied force of 45 N at an angle of 40degrees to the horizontal. What is the acclecration if the force of friction opposing the motion is 28 N?

Homework Equations

Is this question related to the x and y component rules?
I tried finding the x and y of 45 N and 28N. I don't understand how my answer is not even close to the answer in the book.

The Attempt at a Solution

45N (E40degreeN)
x-component:
45(cos40)=34.37N
y-component:
45(sin40)=28.9N

28N (W40degreeS)
x-component:
28(cos40)=-21.4N
28(sin40)=-18N

X-components
34.37-21.4= 13.07N
Y-components
28.9-18=10.92N
[tex]\sqrt{13.07^2+10.92^2}[/tex]
= 17N
Fun=ma
a=Fun/m
a=17N/15kg
a=1.1m/s^2

The answer in the book is 0.4m/s^2
sorry about this mess. its my first time posting a question.

Physics news on Phys.org
Your error was inpropper diagram, in this kind of physics the 3 basic rules are draw draw draw.

28N <--- ______) ----> 45Cos(40)

this is a representation of the horizontal component forces acting on the toboggan (the sled).

subtracting them you should get approx:

6.47N the right direction of the screen

therefore then applying F=ma

a = F / m

a = 6.47 / 15

a = 0.431 m/s/s QED =D

Hope this helps mate

anna sung said:

Homework Statement

A toboggan with a mass of 15kg is being pulled with an applied force of 45 N at an angle of 40degrees to the horizontal. What is the acclecration if the force of friction opposing the motion is 28 N?

Homework Equations

Is this question related to the x and y component rules?
I tried finding the x and y of 45 N and 28N. I don't understand how my answer is not even close to the answer in the book.

The Attempt at a Solution

45N (E40degreeN)
x-component:
45(cos40)=34.37N
y-component:
45(sin40)=28.9N

28N (W40degreeS)
x-component:
28(cos40)=-21.4N