1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Other No motivation, considering taking time off -- what are some...

1. Oct 18, 2016 #1
    I graduated college back in 2015. I did nothing but party and the bare minimum and luckily managed to finish a degree in sociology; I'm good at writing. I was a chemistry major when I first started college, and I had the intention of going to medical school. However, I screwed up big time by failing so many science courses, repeating, failing again, so I switched into sociology just to graduate.

I still do want to go medical school, but it'll take some serious time to fix my GPA, and I'll also need to get a masters degree to overcome the mistakes I made in undergrad. I'm currently considering taking time off from school and going into the work field and then coming back again. (I am enrolled in a post-bacc program that I am pulling a mere 1.98 GPA).

My (sociology) degree isn't very employable, so I'll be stuck working crappy jobs. I'm currently a dish washer. But something in a lab would be nice since I could put it on my resume. I was a volunteer intern in a lab for a summer, but I don't think that experience is enough to get me a job. Plus I wasn't very good at doing the basic calculations for dilutions, etc.