1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Job Skills Non-desk jobs - Career guidance

1. Apr 14, 2016 #1
    Hi there

My question in short is:
    "What would be the best field to move into if I'm looking for non-desk physics/engineering jobs"

Let me elaborate a bit on this. I have a BA degree in fine art, some projects can be seen here http://frimannkjerulf.tumblr.com/ I also have BS degree in physics which I completed 2 years ago. There isn't much going on in the academic world here in Iceland physics wise, so regarding a Masters Program I've been looking into fields like Computational Engineering or Mechanical Engineering, or possibly even Optical Engineering.

But the problem is that over the years I've managed to build up a chronic shoulder- and neck-tension problems, which makes working at a desk for prolonged times quite demanding on my wellbeing. I've spent thousands of dollars on physiotherapists and chiropractors. Tried to do as much exercise as possible alongside my desk-jobs, to no avail. So it seems that I need to keep desk work to a minimum. Not avoid it completely maybe but something like 50/50 of desk work and some leg work would be nice.

The fields I mentioned (Mechanical-, Computational or Optical-engingeering) would mostly lead to desk jobs, at least from what I've gathered from the job market here in Iceland.

So I'm wondering if there is some field I could move into, where I can use my current knowledge in physics and math, that doesn't necessarily have a desk as a permanent end result?

I would say that Optical engineering is most likely to fulfill this requirement, but I'm only guessing. Anyone have some experience regarding that?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 14, 2016 #2

CalcNerd

Education Advisor
    Gold Member