1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Oh I need some help.

1. Nov 24, 2009 #1
    Hi guys

I'm new here and needed some help with an idea i have. I am trying to work out how much torque/power a single piston engine will have, after i have designed it. I know how much force there wil be on the piston (in lds) at all positions of the piston. I gather i need to work out the leverage on the crack.

Is there a web site i can read about how to work this out?

Gaz

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 24, 2009 #2
    Do you have the geometry and weights of the components?

4. Nov 24, 2009 #3

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Have you had basic trigonometry? What math classes have you had? What physics classes?

5. Nov 24, 2009 #4
    I am studying with the open university at the moment only just touching on physics at the minute (studying a book called Energy and light). So i have basic maths skills but learning all the time.

Also I have a modle drawn up in CAD (solidworks).

Gaz

6. Nov 24, 2009 #5
    Good good, well you can use the following method.

You need to plot the gas pressure force vs crank angle. Then to find the inertia force of the piston going up and down, and plot that vs crank angle.

You can combine these two fo find the force acting down the cylinder axis. The graph should look like this:
    resultant.jpg

You acn then use this figure to work out the torque, at the crankshaft using the folling equation.
    eq.jpg

From that you get a graph of torque vs crank angle. Fin the average torque and work out power from that.
    torque.jpg

7. Nov 24, 2009 #6
    This is great stuff.