Phd Physics vs Applied Math

In summary, the individual has completed an undergraduate degree in physics and math, with a capstone senior thesis in experimental condensed matter. They struggled with in-class exams in physics but were more comfortable with take-home tests. They decided not to pursue graduate school immediately and instead worked as a research assistant in computational biochemistry. However, they now want to pursue a PhD in computational research and have published several papers and plan to publish more. They also plan to retake the physics GRE. They are interested in applying to graduate programs in computational physics or math, but also considering applied math programs. They have limited experience in applied math and are unsure if they are a good fit for these programs.
skpgre
Background:

I completed my undergraduate degree in physics, from a reputed liberal arts college, a couple of years ago, and wrote a capstone senior thesis on experimental condensed matter project. Along the way, I took plenty of match classes, falling only one class short of a math major. My physics and math grades were both topsy-turvy - I ended up with a physics gpa of 3.55 and a math gpa of 3.75. I have a bad memory, so I struggled a bit with in-class physics exams - I was much more comfortable with the take-home tests instead. However, in my math classes, I was much more comfortable with the in-class exams, and struggled a lot more with the involved proofs in the take-home versions - particularly in abstract algebra and real analysis.