Physics BA: Options after Undergrad

In summary, the speaker is majoring in Physics and plans to go to graduate school for Electrical Engineering. They are unable to switch majors or take EE courses due to their schedule. They are seeking advice on how to make themselves marketable to graduate programs, and if grad school is not an option, they are wondering what career options they have after college. The speaker suggests doing well in courses and gaining research experience as a way to increase chances for grad school. They also mention that some EE professors may view a physics background as beneficial, and share their own experience of doing plasma physics in grad school as an EE major. They hope that a faculty member will provide further insight.
dreamfulmirag
I'm majoring in Physics (getting a BA) and want to go to graduate school for Electrical Engineering. During my first year and a half of college, I explored different subject areas and tried to figure out what I was interested in. Because of this, I don't have space in my schedule to switch majors or take Electrical Engineering courses on the side. Any advice on what I could do to make myself marketable to graduate programs? If grad school is a reach in my situation, what could I do after college (career wise)?

Physics news on Phys.org
I know people who did EE grad school after a physics major - one was from a liberal arts school that had no engineering so he clearly had no engineering courses (EDIT: I thought of a second person I went to grad school with who was from a liberal arts school). If you do well in your courses, and do whatever you can to get some research experience, you will have a shot at grad school. A great recommendation from a researcher you worked with will go a long way - profs want grad students who can do research!