1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics in Ontario

1. Aug 13, 2007 #1
    Hello everyone, i'm currently about to enter grade 12 and looking around for a good university to apply to. Does anyone know any good universities for physics around the GTA or somewhere in southern Ontario, so far I've read up on UOIT and it seems alright. I'd love some input from someone with experience. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 14, 2007 #2

George Jones

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

U of T has the best reputation, but York also has a good program. In the GTA, there's also Ryerson. If you're not afraid of venturing west down the 401 a ways, Guelph and Waterloo have good programs.

4. Aug 14, 2007 #3
  5. Aug 15, 2007 #4
    I am currently studying Nuclear science at UOIT. It is good university and although its new and not in the macleans university rating. It is in the top ten in Canada. You should really focus on your studies for grade 12.

If you get above 80% they cannot refuse you. If you choose Nuclear engineering I could give you some pointers

6. Aug 16, 2007 #5

hage567

Homework Helper

Where did you get the info stating it was one of the top ten? Is this for overall rating or in some more specific way like amount of funding for research or something like teacher/student ratio?

7. Aug 16, 2007 #6
    lol i dont know i meant top ten in ontario sry

8. Aug 16, 2007 #7

George Jones

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I don't know much about UOIT. Last week, I read in the on-line Toronto Star that the administration at The University of Ontario Instititute of Technology is making a move to change its unwieldy name.

9. Aug 16, 2007 #8