Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Power generation using electric motors

1. Mar 24, 2009 #1
    Hi, I am a novice. I have very sensitive high end audio equipment. I want to power them up from an independent source. I was contemplating using a electric motor driven generator. I want to do this to supply cleanest power to the equipment/electronics. My power requirement is about 5 KVA. I am planning to make three such sets of 2KVA each to supply to my three sets of amplifier's. I do not want to use any fuel based prime movers.
    I would appreciate any suggestions.
    :cool:

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 24, 2009 #2
    What is the "Normal Source" that you want to be independent from?

Need to know more about the existing source and identified problems before even making a guess.

Removing any "fuel based" motors pretty much eliminates all viable options, other than running a portable nuclear reactor, unless that too is "fuel based".

In a country with a stable electric grid, you won't find a cleaner source of power than the grid.

4. Mar 24, 2009 #3
    my normal source is the grid. But. as usual, many electric items are connected to my home power source (both inside and outside) which do carry electrical noise. Hence I want a dedicated power source to run just my audio equipment. and nothing else will be connected to it.

5. Mar 24, 2009 #4
    The AC power is filtered, converted to DC and heavily filtered more to eliminate the 120Hz Ripple. These steps make any noise on the AC line isolated from the audio signal. If the power is stable enough to run a PC, Display, etc, the AC line is OK.

If there is audible noise from the power in the audio output, the power supply in the amplifier needs repair.

6. Mar 24, 2009 #5