Problem in Self-Studying Calculus

In summary, self-studying calculus can be challenging for students due to the abstract concepts and lack of guidance from a teacher. Without the structure and support provided in a traditional classroom setting, students may struggle to stay motivated and fully grasp the material. Additionally, self-studying requires a high level of discipline and time management skills, which can be difficult for some students to maintain. It is important for students to seek out additional resources and support, such as online tutorials or study groups, to supplement their self-study efforts and ensure success in this challenging subject.
VinciDa
Hello fellow science enthusiasts! I will start by describing my problem. I am majoring in Computer Science. More importantly, I am taking a course in Single Variable Calculus I. We are using the textbook written by Stewart: Calculus Early Transcendentals. And as I continue read through it, Stewart has absolutely no clue how to convey his ideas lucidly and clearly.

Thus to pass the exams I only memorize the theorems(wait I don't just memorize everything, I do try to understand those that I can) without caring about understanding it. This I fear because I have to understand these concepts in order to apply them and solve problems. For example, I need to understand these mathematical concepts in order to apply them in my future career in Computer Science.

The solution that I thought of was to read a separate textbook called: Elementary Calculus by Frederick S Woods. As I read a free version of it online: I found that it is full of geometrical demonstrations. Another problem was: My geometry is not that good.

I truly wish you guys can help me with this. Anyone have a suggestion on what should I do?

Physics news on Phys.org
VinciDa said: