Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Problem of superluminal communication in Non-local HVTs

1. Aug 14, 2015 #1

Zcs

Hi there.

I have been studying on Bell Inequalities and hidden variables problem for quite some time now however my general knowledge on the problem of superluminal communication is superficial at best. I know that non of the standing interpretations (Everett, Copenhagen, Bohmian, QBist etc.) allow superluminal communication and I do know how Everett, Bohr-Copenhagen and QBists handle the formalism of it but I have no idea how Bohmians deal with it, I know that it has something to do with the guiding equation but that's all.

My request-problem here is that there are lots of misinformation on this subject and I don't want to waste my time trying to figure out which article or book is valid and which is not (I'm just a grad student and my advisor asked a quick review on the subject). Can anyone (especially if you are a Bohmian) kindly push me towards the general direction of some useful review articles on the subject, that would be much appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 15, 2015 #2

bhobba

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Last edited: Aug 15, 2015
  4. Aug 17, 2015 #3

Demystifier

Science Advisor

5. Sep 18, 2015 #4

jfizzix

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

With quantum mechanics as we know it, there is no way we can measure a single particle and tell if it's half of an entangled pair or not.

Because of this, there is no way to communicate faster than light via quantum entanglement even though the correlations between pairs of particles might really be nonlocal.

I would look up the no-signalling theorem (which this notion is based on) to learn more about this.

6. Sep 19, 2015 #5

stevendaryl

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

In Wikipedia, it's called the no-communication theorem: