Programming language for engineers

In summary: Fortran, use lambdas to make async tasks more readable in Python, and so on.In summary, a beginner should start with Python or C/C++.
qwerty2x
Im starting my bachelor degree in mechatronics engineering this semester, i have very little knowledge in programming and so want to start learning a language. Ideally a language that would give me the upperhand for employment or one that is most relevant to engineering.( maybe they all are i don't know)

I have done a little bit of research into which languages are requrired in job advertisments some which pop-up include MATLAB, Labview, simulink, Solidworks, PLC, scada, dephi, c, c++, and others.

Basically which programming language is most suited for a beginner to learn that will be useful to the course I am doing?

Help is greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
In order:
Matlab
C
Labview
Simulink
C++

I would say in this order:
Matlab
VBA
C++
Labview
VHDL
Fortran

I'd say learn Python or C/C++. Once you've got that down, picking up Matlab, Verilog/VHDL, etc. later on will be easy.

Starting out learning Matlab before you've taken any classes is not going to be very fun. You can do a lot more educational and 'fun' things with Python or C. Most Matlab books are going to offer dry examples that will be over your head. Not to mention you'll have to either pay or pirate (not recommending this!) Matlab software, while C and Python compilers can be had for free!

I would recommend C++, with it you'll be able to easily understand MATLAB as well as C (for embedded programming). Then you can teach yourself assembler (perhaps for an AVR microcontroller) and you'll be good. Alternatively you could consider consider C# or Java (yuck).C# is kind of cool, I haven't had much time to do anything with it, but it looks very good.