Programming Languages: Python, C for Games & Apps

In summary: For Windows then C/C++ or Java and others...In summary, Python is a good language to start with when wanting to build a good base for physics courses, but C may also be useful for programming games designed to acquaint people with mathematical and scientific concepts or just outright storytelling.
Cake
I'm studying Python and C right now to build a good base for my physics courses as an undergrad. However, I'm also interested in languages involved with PC game design and Android/iOS devices. Was wondering if python and C will meld well with the programming required to undertake projects like those and what languages those projects entail. Projects I've thought about are games designed to acquaint people with mathematical and scientific concepts, and just outright storytelling. Thanks ahead of time for any assistance.

Physics news on Phys.org
For Android then Java is the language of choice athough other Java based languages like Scala or Clojure can be used.

For iOS then Objective-C or more recently Swift.

For Windows then C/C++ or Java and others...

For MacOSX then Objective-C, Swift, C/C++ or Java and others...

jedishrfu said:
I've heard C Sharp is used a lot in Steam titles. I guess that falls into other. Does the "other" category typically depend on what the person is trying to do with their product?

I found that once I had a good basis in a language or 2 you can pick up on another one really quickly.
Just comes down to the nitty gritty syntax and what not which is easy enough to handle :)
Most of my google searches end up <some function> in <some language> :