1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Python useful for engineer student?

1. Mar 8, 2014 #1

462chevelle

Gold Member

I'm taking linear algebra through edx just to get my eyes on the subject. Some of the work in the class requires you to to vector operations on Python. Is it going to be useful for me to learn this stuff for engineering? Or should i just focus on the linear algebra.
    Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 8, 2014 #2

DataGG

Gold Member

I'm no engineer, nor am I studying to become one. That said, python is used in engineering. What's your major?

If you want/need to do vector operations in python, then you need to learn both vector operations (Algebra) and python.

4. Mar 8, 2014 #3

462chevelle

Gold Member

Lately I've been juggling Mechanical, Electrical, or Aerospace engineering. Due to my work experience Mechanical or Electrical are more likely though. I'm learning the Algebra to go along with the programming. The programming is going even slower to me than the Algebra though. A couple Engineering students I talked to told me that I needed to learn Matlab over any other kind of computer programs. I wouldn't think Python would hurt, I just wanted to make sure it would be beneficial to study that in my free time, or if I should be hitting Calculus pretty hard. Since I'm taking Calculus 1 next semester and won't be taking Linear Algebra for at least a year and a half. Besides, to me Linear Algebra is quite a bit more difficult than Calculus 1. Everything is taught in general variable form, instead of examples.

5. Mar 9, 2014 #4
    Python is good for processing data/text files vs, say Fortran, which is good for computations. If you go into research, Python is a good tool to have available.

6. Mar 9, 2014 #5

analogdesign

Science Advisor