Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quick question on Fourier transform

1. Sep 10, 2013 #1
    Hi all, as a physics student, I seldom use Fourier transform but from my understanding, given a periodic function you can decompose the function into sine function with different frequencies. Also, to get a ultra short pulse in time domain, this would require mixing many frequencies. I would therefore like to ask what happens if I pass my monochromatic light through a optical chopper. Is Fourier transform not applicable in this case since ultra short pulse generation does not require many frequencies?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 10, 2013 #2
    Ultra short pulses DO require many frequencies. Fourier transform theory applies

4. Sep 10, 2013 #3

boneh3ad

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Of course when analyzing pulses, it may be advantageous to look at the wavelet transform instead depending on what you actually hope to get out of the analysis.

5. Sep 10, 2013 #4

marcusl

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Fouier theory says that the spectrum Z of the product of two signals z(t) = x(t) y(t) is the convolution of their spectra, Z = X * Y. Your signal consists of a monochromatic wave times a periodic square wave, so its spectrum is the convolution of their spectra. You can easily figure it out from there.

6. Sep 10, 2013 #5
    A single frequency like a pure sine wave is only a single frequency if it starts at the beginning of time and goes on forever. As soon as you start or stop it you introduce a step which is composed of higher frequencies. The sharper the step the higher are the included frequencies. So chopping introduces harmonics.

7. Sep 10, 2013 #6
    I am aware that you need many frequencies to get short pulse. That's what Fourier transform tells us. In my example, I specifically said I only have single wavelength as source.