1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Atomic Recommend good optical clock/cold atom/frequency comb book?

1. Jan 30, 2017 #1
    I need to learn more about optical clocks, frequency combs, atom trapping, atom interferometry, etc., and I'm wondering if there are good books or review papers you recommend? The papers I'm reading can be hard to understand and often assume knowledge I don't have. I'm a grad student if that helps.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 30, 2017 #2

DrClaude

Staff: Mentor

What is your background with respect to quantum optics?

4. Jan 30, 2017 #3
    Don't really have one, but I know several of Marlan Scully's current students if that helps. :D

5. Jan 30, 2017 #4

DrClaude

You need to get a good basis in quantum optics if you want to tackle these subjects.

Considering that many of the topics you want to cover are quite new, you should go for a recently published book. Looking at my bookshelf, I suggest that you get a copy of Introduction to Quantum Optics by Grynberg, Aspect, and Fabre (Cambridge University Press, 2010)

6. Jan 30, 2017 #5
    Thanks. I mainly need to learn about this stuff because I'm studying the use of cold atoms/optical clocks in gravity, so I'm *mainly* learning gravity. :oldbiggrin:

7. Feb 9, 2017 #6