Can You Juggle a Relationship and Engineering School?

In summary, don't try to get into a new relationship while you are studying for your career - it will be difficult to maintain grades. However, don't resist a new romance - it can be bad for your mental and physical health.
bojorquez.dg
Currently in 2nd semester electronics engineering, last semester I ended a 6 year relationship (I'm 25) I was thinking of trying not to get on a new relationship while I studied my career to focus just on school for now, what are your thoughts on this? I was studying graphic design/working and had time for school and girl with that career, but engineering is more demanding and I don't see myself doing both as of now. Any experiences to share? Thanks :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Don't try to get into a new relationship - you will be experiencing the effect a breakup can have on your grades already. However - don't actively resist it either - in general, relationships find us no matter what we do. Resisting a new romance as it presents itself can also be bad for your grades.

Just be honest with your next prospective partner about where your priorities lie - there is a chance you'll end up with someone with similar priorities and then your relationship will reinforce your study ;)

When I was in upper division physics I made a conscious decision to not date. Given the demands on my time, I could barely maintain a friendship.

Thanks, I think I will not actively look for a relationship, I'm still feeling the effects of the breakup after 5 months but it has been getting better. I'm not in a position to waste any time either since I'm 25 and in 2nd semester in college, I have a long way to go :)

You're probably going to be and engie, so try to focus on study but keep your social life healthy. Studying is not about books or grades, it's about learning, and our brain need time to absorb information and time to don't think about this.