Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Relationship + School = ?

1. Mar 24, 2013 #1
    Currently in 2nd semester electronics engineering, last semester I ended a 6 year relationship (I'm 25) I was thinking of trying not to get on a new relationship while I studied my career to focus just on school for now, what are your thoughts on this? I was studying graphic design/working and had time for school and girl with that career, but engineering is more demanding and I don't see myself doing both as of now. Any experiences to share? Thanks :)

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 24, 2013 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Don't try to get into a new relationship - you will be experiencing the effect a breakup can have on your grades already. However - don't actively resist it either - in general, relationships find us no matter what we do. Resisting a new romance as it presents itself can also be bad for your grades.

Just be honest with your next prospective partner about where your priorities lie - there is a chance you'll end up with someone with similar priorities and then your relationship will reinforce your study ;)

4. Mar 25, 2013 #3

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

When I was in upper division physics I made a conscious decision to not date. Given the demands on my time, I could barely maintain a friendship.

5. Mar 25, 2013 #4
    Thanks, I think I will not actively look for a relationship, I'm still feeling the effects of the breakup after 5 months but it has been getting better. I'm not in a position to waste any time either since I'm 25 and in 2nd semester in college, I have a long way to go :)

6. Apr 7, 2013 #5

Rolen

Gold Member