1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Research Topic

1. Oct 16, 2009 #1
    I am an undergraduate in physics and I am getting myself prepared for some research. I am taking a class which essentially gives me academic credit for a supervised research project I do under a faculty member. However, the choice of my research varies with contingent factors involved. For instance, my professor told me that I should really work on something I enjoy (like black holes, which involves general relativity), more than something that I can turn into serious published work (like globular clusters, which I could probably make better progress in). However, it is really important to me to also build an important academic profile and I think it would look good if I can work on a project that would evolve into professional research by the time I graduate.

Not to say that if I did something on black holes now, I would have to abandon it as soon as I got a grade for the course.

But what should I do?

Any advice?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 16, 2009 #2

eri

What you do now does not necessarily determine what you'll study in grad school or after grad school. I did research on galaxies, star clusters, and solar physics before starting my PhD, and now it's something else entirely again. The chances of you getting something publishable out of a semester or two of research credit is pretty small, so concentrate on what you like. And keep your limits in mind - sure, black hole theory sounds cool, but chances are very good you'd spend the whole year just building up to the point where you could start to understand the research currently being done.

4. Oct 16, 2009 #3