1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Returning to study

1. Feb 27, 2014 #1
    Hi All,

I graduated nearly two years ago now with a first class honours physics BSc from Warwick uni (UK). Since then, I've been working in computer security for about 9 months (took me a little while to get the job haha). Anyway, I've realised now that physics is really where my heart belongs - shouldn't have left!

My old supervisor has suggested I do a PhD, and I've been thinking seriously about it for about 2 months now and I think I want to go for it.

My problem: I've forgotten everything! What do I do to get back into the field? Are there any remedial physics/maths courses I can do before entering onto a PhD? I've looked at doctoral training centres, which include a MSc as part of the first of a four year programme, which look good because it's all fully funded (I have very little money). But even these look daunting.

Is it even possible to relearn the maths I'd need? I work full time now, so the time I have to study is limited. Any advice? This situation has really got me down in the dumps, I feel like I'm stuck in a job I don't like, with no way out. What if I'm just not smart enough to go back to study?

Tl;dr I want to return to physics but am scared I've forgotten everything and that I'm not smart enough any more.

Last edited: Feb 27, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 27, 2014 #2
    It's always worth a shot, IMO. It is fully funded, and in the US I am aware that there are remedial classes for PhD candidates who need to "refresh" the material. Not sure if the case is the same in the UK, but I wouldn't be surprised if it was.

4. Feb 27, 2014 #3