Ricci tensor for Schwarzschild metric

In summary: So I decided to look this up. It all fell into place pretty quickly. Saw your edit now - heh, we both immediately turned to the same place.This will be something great to look into, though - I'm only an undergrad, now, but I'm working with some faculty at my university and some of the first things I'm interested in really digging into have to do with constant density zero-pressure fluid solutions. Isn't this just a way of describing a uniform energy density in a region of space, though?Yes, this is exactly what it is - a way of describing a uniform energy density in a region of space. Yes, this is exactly what it is - a way of describing a
AleksanderPhy
Hello I am little bit confused about calculating Ricci tensor for schwarzschild metric:
So we have Ricci flow equation,∂tgμν=-2Rμν.
And we have metric tensor for schwarzschild metric:
Diag((1-rs/r),(1-rs]/r)-1,(r2),(sin2Θ) and ∂tgμν=0 so 0=-2Rμν and we get that Rμν=0.But Rμν should not equal to zero for schwarzschild metric. I may have some mistakes on symbols beacuse I use them first time.

Physics news on Phys.org
The Ricci flow is not the same as the Einstein field equations. The Schwarzschild metric does not undergo Ricci flow.

AleksanderPhy said:
Rμν should not equal to zero for schwarzschild metric.

Yes, it should. The Schwarzschild metric is a vacuum metric, so its Einstein tensor is zero; and it's simple to show that if the Einstein tensor is zero, the Ricci tensor must also be zero.

PeterDonis said:
Yes, it should. The Schwarzschild metric is a vacuum metric, so its Einstein tensor is zero; and it's simple to show that if the Einstein tensor is zero, the Ricci tensor must also be zero.
The Schwarzschild solution is a vacuum solution?

I'm kind of surprised I haven't come across this yet. What does "m" represent in the metric, then?

MattRob said:
The Schwarzschild solution is a vacuum solution?