Self-Taught Calculus: Best Books to Master It

• Thread starter oziemaster
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Calculus
In summary, the conversation discusses a student's interest in teaching themselves calculus over the summer. They mention the books "The Calculus Lifesaver" by Adrian Banner and "Pre-Calculus for Dummies" as well as online resources such as Coursera and Khan Academy. They also ask for recommendations for other calculus books and discuss the difficulty of some of the exercises in "Spivak's Calculus." They ultimately decide on using Stewart's book for their self-study.
oziemaster
Hello, so to start off I'm in the IB program and taking physics HL (high level physics, love it, pretty much like AP) with math studies (basic math and pre-calculus, very easy class for me) and I really enjoy math. So, I've decided to teach myself calculus over the summer. Math studies doesn't offer an in depth calculus course and they only go into the very basics. The rest of the course is based off pre-calculus which I have a book for (Pre-Calculus For Dummies) and plan on getting ahead of the entire math class and possibly try to enter a high(er) level math class. So, finally to my question, are there any books out there that are for the one that really wants to understand and master calculus? The books I have are, "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Calculus" by W. Michael Kelley and "The Calculus Lifesaver" by Adrian Banner. Which one of these are the best for me and are there better ones out there? Also, is "Pre-Calculus For Dummies" a good book as well it seems like it does a good job of explaining things in text and illustration. If there is any other information needed I'll gladly provide it. Thanks for the help!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Free single variable calculus course at https://www.coursera.org/.
Also check out http://www.khanacademy.org/