Short Track Inline Speed Skating - 110 mm Wheels vs. 125 mm

In summary, larger wheels do not increase roll resistance linearly. You may lose traction on smooth surfaces.
Ron M
Hi All, New to the forum. I am a lineman by trade so I have an understanding of physics as it applies to not getting yourself killed when setting telephone poles and line tension. I am also a short track inline roller speed skater and they just announced that they will be allowing 125 mm wheels in certain events. Since these wheels are new, they carry a much larger price tag than the 110 mm wheels used now. Currently my set up is 4, 110 mm wheels per skate with a hardness of 89A. (standard urethane hardness guage). A 125 mm set up would be just 3, 125 mm wheels with a hardness of also 89A. My question is, what is the difference physics wise in roll, etc between the two in a percentage form? You can also get 100 mm setups (also 4 wheel). Is it as simple as you get around 10% more roll per push as the wheels are approx. 10% larger than each other? Do you gain even more counting friction when you go to a 3 wheel set up instead of 4? Thank you for your input.

Physics news on Phys.org
In bicycle wheel rolling resistance, the effect of diameter disappears in the other parameters' effects and the hyperbole of marketing.

I have ridden 700c, 26", 20" and 16" and attribute no detectable difference to diameter. ATM I'm riding with a 26" rear wheel and two 20" front wheels.

Ron M said:
Hi . Is it as simple as you get around 10% more roll per push as the wheels are approx. 10% larger .

The diameter is 10% larger, and so is the circumference. So, yes, the 125 mm wheels will have a smaller angular velocity than the 110 mm , when compared against a constant translational velocity. And that is about anything concrete one can actually say about the setup.

Rolling resistance would be an addition of that from the contact of the wheel and the surface, and that of the bearing: