Should I Choose Physics or Physical Chemistry for My MSc Thesis?

In summary, the speaker is currently in their first year of a MSc in physical chemistry and is deciding on a topic for their thesis. They have recently realized that their interests lie more on the side of physics and have a background in organic and inorganic chemistry, atomic and molecular physics, and computational modelling. Their supervisor has assured them that doing a PhD in physics is possible with their background and they are specifically interested in quantum materials and experimental condensed matter physics. They are considering a fundamental topic for their thesis and have the option to do an internship in a physics lab at a prominent university in the US. They are concerned about job prospects and whether focusing on physics will limit their options. They have received advice to choose physics for more flexibility and know
vitom001
I'm currently in my first year of a MSc in physical chemistry and in the process of deciding what topic to choose for my thesis (most likely starting around april). I think my personal interests lie more on the side of physics than chemistry (I have only become sure of it this year). My background includes organic and inorganic chemistry, atomic and molecular physics including analytical techniques, (statistical) thermodynamics, some quantum mechanics as well as computational modelling. I have talked to my supervisor and he tells me that doing a PhD in physics with my background is definitely possible if I focus my thesis and internship (both are part of my MSc and together take up 1 year) on that direction. I would be specifically interested in quantum materials/atomic-molecular and experimental condensed matter physics.