Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should Undergrad Physics major learn C#?

1. Learn C#

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Learn C++

4 vote(s)
    50.0%
  3. Learn C# and C++

4 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. Dec 15, 2012 #1
    I'm an undergraduate Physics major. I'm interested in doing research, right now I'm aiming to do undergraduate research in photonics (I'm just a freshman).

After a conversation, I learnt that I should learn C++, mathlab, AUTOcad and labview to use in my research.

My question is:
    Does it make sense to
    learn C#, C++ or both?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 15, 2012 #2
    Learn both. Pick up C# first. It's more marketable these days, easier to get into, and will help you learn good habits before you pick up C++ (and invariably, C). Personally I recommend pascal (and object pascal / delphi) as the best there is for teaching good programming habits, but through a comedy of marketing errors, that language is almost dead today.

4. Dec 15, 2012 #3

rcgldr

Homework Helper

Depending on the student price, get matlab first, since you'll be able to use it very quickly if you're already doing research. As for C# versus C++, I think it depends more on the class curiculum (is there a intro class oriented towards non-computer science majors?) than the language.

5. Dec 15, 2012 #4

AlephZero

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Unless you want to use Microsoft's ".net" framework to make your software communicate with other MS products and network services, I can't think of any reason why C# is "better" than C++.

C# has all the problems of C++ for writing numerical algorithms - except there are some fairly good workrounds in C++ which don't exist in C#.

Trying to learn C++ and C# at the same time would also be a bad idea IMO, because for a beginner they are similar enough to be confusingly different, if you see what I mean.

6. Dec 15, 2012 #5