1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Signal/Image Processing & Communications Careers?

1. Apr 9, 2009 #1
    Can you tell me about your career in Signal/Image Processing, Communications, or Intelligent systems? I would like to know what a career in these industries is like with and without a phd.

Also, what skills are needed? I'm sure mathematics is one but to what level?

Thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 9, 2009 #2
    Hey, I have a masters in EE and I'm starting a job in image processing (my research was in computer vision / robotics)

So far its pretty good. Image processing tends to be a hodge-podge of methods so it takes a lot of reading to keep up. We mostly prototype algorithms in Matlab then implement them in VHDL and FPGA.

In terms of skills: definitely linear algebra, that's a big one. Some microprocessor design courses and calculus are useful as well. Optimization (and hence variational calculus) are big parts of signal processing. You should take some DSP courses as well, since everything is digital nowadays.

subSquall
    The Subversive Guide to Engineering
    Latest Post: Engineering Jobs: What Have Graduates Been Doing
    http://subversiveguidetoeng.blogspot.com

4. Apr 10, 2009 #3
    Thanks for the reply subSquall!!

Oh wow! VHDL, FPGA, Microprocessor design? and here I was thinking it may be to my advantage to switch to a software engineering program (from computer. I thought I would be the wise one avoiding courses in DSD and Microprocessor systems!