Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simple alternatives protoboards for RF circuit design

1. May 28, 2012 #1
    I've found out very quickly that I can't use a breadboard for RF circuits, what is another choice? I know PCB's would be best but making them is very tedious for me. I'm new at this stuff so I plan on experimenting quite a bit which is another reason I want something quick and easy to replace components. The frequencies are gonna be between 100MHz and up to 400MHz..

Thanks for any suggestions

2. jcsd
  3. May 28, 2012 #2
    It is very hard to breadboard rf circuits. 100 to 400MHz is not the highest, you can still carefully solder the surface mount components together. But still the result might be different when you put onto the pcb. Layout is everything. The wave length of the frequency become an issure pretty fast.

Now a days, you can get a 4 layer pcb quite cheap, you might want to do that. Also, you should avoid leaded components, you have to use surface mount components.

4. May 28, 2012 #3

vk6kro

Science Advisor

You might like to try "dead bug construction".
    Like this:
    http://www.qrp.pops.net/ugly.asp

This actually works better than printed circuit boards at VHF and is ideal for quick prototypes.
    Once you have a project going, you can think about either putting it in a nice box so that the appearance doesn't matter, or you can make up a PCB knowing the circuit has been optimized.

Unless you already know a circuit works, putting it straight onto a PCB without prototyping is a recipe for disaster. At VHF, proper grounding and bypassing are essential and this is achieved better if a ground plane is immediately under your circuit.