Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simple intergration I think

1. Mar 25, 2005 #1
    Here is a stupid question
    How would you solve for [tex] \frac{d^2r}{dt^2}=G\frac{M}{r^2}[/tex]
    I'm new at this stuff, can anyone tell me??
    Assume G and M are constants
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 25, 2005 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Yes, they are constants. G is your universal gravitational constant. M is the mass of the body your object is being attracted to.

The distance away from the center of the body (r) is the only thing that changes.
  4. Mar 25, 2005 #3

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

It's not that simple to integrate that ODE.Technically,it's nonlinear second order.Since that equation appears in the Kepler problem in classical mechanics,i would advise you to look for a book on celestial mechanics which would deal nicely with this equation.

5. Mar 25, 2005 #4
    [tex]\frac{d^{2}r}{dt^{2}}=\alpha r^{-2}[/tex]

Let [tex]w=dr/dt[/tex].

Then [tex]dw/dt=d^{2}r/dt^{2}[/tex].

Chain Rule:

[tex]\frac{dw}{dr}w=\alpha r^{-2}.[/tex]

[tex]\int wdw=\int \alpha r^{-2}dr[/tex]

[tex]w^{2}=-2\alpha r^{-1}+C_{1}[/tex]

At this point, solve for the constant using the initial velocity of the body.

[tex]dr/dt=\sqrt{-2\alpha r^{-1}+C_{1}}[/tex]

[tex]\int \frac{dr}{\sqrt{-2\alpha r^{-1}+C_{1}}}=\int dt[/tex]

If you type in
    (-2 a x^(-1) + c)^(-1/2)
    to integrals.wolfram.com , you get something. Realize that what you get is t on one side and r (which is x in the website) is in the mess on the left hand side. I doubt that you can solve for r as a function of time. You can still get a graph though.

It's kinda cool to see a graph whose *acceleration* is changing. Or maybe that's just me...
  6. Mar 25, 2005 #5
    Thanks guys, it helps a lot
  7. Mar 25, 2005 #6
    I ran into another problem, I was doing a problem similar to this