1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simple Pseudocode Question

1. Sep 2, 2010 #1
    I'm new to psuedocode, and I'm having trouble putting all the pieces together:

Here is the definition of a function named foo whose inputs are two integers and an array of integers a[1] . . . a[n].

Code (Text):
    1 Foo(k,m, a[1],...,a[n])
    2   if (k < 1 or m > n or k > m) return 0
    3   elsereturn a[k] +Foo(k+1,m,a[1],...,a[n])
    Suppose that the input integers are k = 2 and m = 5 and the input array contains 5,6,2,3,4,8,2. What value does Foo return? Using summation notation, give a general formula for what Foo computes.

This one is making my head hurt. Here's what I did so far: So line 2 has three conditional statements: If k<1// if 2<1..this is false If m>n//if 5 is greater than the amount of values in the array, which is 7, so this is false If k>m // if 2> 5, this is false

So this function will display line 3. So line 3 says: return a[k] which is a[2] which is the second value of the array, which is 6. So take 6 and add it to (2+1, 5, a[1].....,a[n])

So is what I have done correct up there? If so, how would I know is a[n] is? Am I supposed to be finding that? What would be the final result of all this?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 3, 2010 #2

Mark44

Staff: Mentor

The function doesn't display anything, but control passes to line 3.
    Not quite. The function returns 6 + Foo(3, 5, a[1], a[2], ..., a[n]), or IOW, 6 + Foo(3, 5, 5, 6, 2, 3, 4, 8, 2).

Now, what does that evaluate to?

4. Sep 3, 2010 #3