Slope and displacement of a triangle beam

In summary, the student is struggling with a mechanics problem and is looking for guidance. They mention the use of singularity functions and suggest breaking the beam into smaller pieces to analyze the forces and moments. They also mention searching online for resources and suggest looking for books or lecture notes on singularity functions for further understanding.
xortan

Homework Statement

I have attached a picture of the problem.

Homework Equations

Singularity functions?

The Attempt at a Solution

So I am an electrical engineering student and got this mechanics course this semester and the teacher hasnt really explained anything, its almost like he thinks we all have mechanics background or something.

If somebody could point me in the right direction that would be great. I think I might need to split the beam into 2 right angel triangles? I really have no idea about this stuff and I have been searching online for awhile. Thanks!

Attachments

• 2012-02-08 16.49.42.jpg
    2012-02-08 16.49.42.jpg
    12.8 KB · Views: 404
Physics news on Phys.org
It looks like you might be trying to solve a problem related to singularity functions. You can use these functions to analyze the forces and moments on beams or other structures. In order to use singularity functions, you'll need to break the beam into smaller pieces so that the forces and moments can be determined for each element separately. You can then sum up the forces and moments from each element to get the total force and moment on the beam. To learn more about singularity functions, you can search online for resources, or look for books or lecture notes related to singularity functions.

1. What is the definition of slope in a triangle beam?

The slope of a triangle beam is the ratio of the change in vertical height to the change in horizontal distance along the beam. It is typically represented as a decimal or a percentage.