Smarter Chinese students go into engineering rather than physics/math?

In summary: Internet. I read mountains of advice, some of it helpful, some of it not. I studied, and studied, and studied some more. In the end, I passed the qualifying exam and was accepted to my first choice school, Perth Amboy A&M.In summary, Chinese students with high entrance exam scores flock to engineering because of the high pay and job opportunities. However, those who scored less well often settled for physics or math (each major sets its own score requirement). Math and physics are much more respectable; even in engineering, electrical is slightly more impressive than mechanical or civil. However, in China, because of the building boom, civil engineering and construction management attract some of the smartest students.
1230wc
I've heard that Chinese students with high entrance exam scores flock to engineering because of jobs. Those who scored less well often settled for physics or math (each major sets its own score requirement). This seems contrary to the situation here. Math and physics are much more respectable; even in engineering, electrical is slightly more impressive than mechanical or civil. However, in China, because of the building boom, civil engineering and construction management attract some of the smartest students.

Chinese seem to think much more practically than Americans; they're more concerned about landing a job with good pay rather than enjoying their majors... How true is this (especially for Chinese grad students in this forum)? Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
There's your answer... You can't believe everything you hear, right?

1230wc said:
Chinese seem to think much more practically than Americans; they're more concerned about landing a job with good pay rather than enjoying their majors